Vegan & gluten-free diet

Gluten-free diet

A gluten-free diet means that you exclude foods that contains gluten. A gluten-free diet therefore exclude food containing gluten protein, such as is found in wheat, rye and barley, as well as crosses or subgroups of these.

Eating gluten-free doesn't have to be complicated and difficult. Today, for example, there are several types of gluten-free flour to choose from, several types of gluten-free pasta and several good, simple gluten-free recipes to try. It can sometimes feel like a big adjustment for a person who has just been diagnosed with celiac disease, or who has chosen to eat gluten-free for other reasons. Most often, you find new ways to cook and bake. It's good to seek help from those around you, to start to think of cooking in new ways and take part in gluten-free inspiration, gluten-free recipes and other knowledge.

Some examples of gluten-free flours are: Buckwheat flour, gluten-free oat flour, sorghum flour, coconut flour, almond flour, teff flour, millet flour, pea flour, lentil flour, chickpea flour, corn flour and quinoa flour. 

There are also many nutritious and tasty gluten-free grains that are perfect to use in the gluten-free kitchen, such as: sorghum, quinoa (red, white, black), whole grain rice, red rice, black rice, gluten-free oats, teff, amaranth, whole buckwheat, couscous made of corn or buckwheat, millet and cornmeal. Check out my gluten-free and vegan recipes here: Vegan and gluten-free recipes and inspiration

Vegan diet

What do vegans eat? And what does a vegan diet include/exclude? In a vegan diet, all animal products are excluded from the diet. Also additives containing animal products, and in some cases also honey. You can be vegan for various reasons, but many people become vegan for animal ethical reasons, for the environment or for health. A vegan diet often includes plenty of vegetables, as well as legumes such as beans and lentils, sprouts, grains and cereals (gluten-free), root vegetables, nuts, seeds, vegetable oils, tofu, tempeh and more. Many people worry about not getting enough protein as a vegan, but this is rarely a problem as long as you eat enough energy.

Protein is found in most foods in varying amounts, and examples of protein-rich vegan foods are beans, lentils, sprouts, nuts, tofu, tempeh and peas. If you still want to get some extra protein, there are organic, vegan protein powders that easily can be added to your food. Vegans need to take supplements of vitamin B12, but sometimes also of certain other vitamins that can be more difficult to get, such as vitamin D. Read more on the Swedish Food Agency's website about which supplements you may need as a vegan.

 

en_US